Back for a bit…

Hey guys,

I’m in a bit of a lull at my job (I’m the head of customer experience and we’re undergoing a maaaaaaajor redesign and the site is closed down) so I wanted to post again and let you know that I am, in fact, not dead. I know, quite a shock, right?

Anyway, to give you a rundown on things I’m working on:

1. Helping with grassroots fundraising and fundraising narrative for Art House Productions.

2. Working on a lyrics video for a prominent APIA poet.

3. Working on my own play, The Girl Behind The Glass, which is about androids, sex, personhood, and consent. My very generous father just got me a tiny little netbook (about 11″ screen, less than three pounds) that I’m planning on using on the train to write to and from work every day. I’m currently on draft 2, and I’d love to be done with draft 3 by the middle of the summer.

4. Providing critical technical support for the Jersey City Slam, whose finals are this upcoming Thursday (May 14, 2015) at El Dopeness at 332 2nd St. in Jersey City. I’m planning on helping to create videos, audio recording, and other stuff to help get the team out to the National Poetry Slam in Oakland this summer.

5. Hosting shows on IndieFeed. Most recently, I did a podcast featuring dear friend and exceptionally talented poet Jeanann Verlee (check it out here!)

6. Gigging out with the Fractal Ensemble, my wordcore spoken word / experimental rock band. We have an outdoor show on Saturday, May 9 at 8 PM at Revolutionary Lounge and Cafe in Tom’s River, NJ!

7. My poetry is being featured as part of Spoken Motion, a dance performance set to poems and music, on May 28 and 30 in NYC. Click the links to see the FB events!

So I’m still alive, and still out there, making stuff. For more up to the minute information, posts, etc. you can find me at my Facebook or Twitter. I’ll also be posting here, as much as I possibly can. Sorry for the long wait between posts. 🙂

About justinwoo

Justin Woo is a Rutgers graduate, Jersey City resident, and Chinese-American poet, theatre artist, videographer, photographer and DJ. He has performed at universities and theatres in New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New Hampshire including the 2007 NYC Fringe Festival and the Tony Award-winning Crossroads Theatre. He was a member of the 2011 and 2012 JC Slam team, and is a JC Slam committee member and tech director. He has collaboratively created several multidisciplinary spoken word theatre pieces. He is currently writing "The Girl Behind The Glass," a science fiction play exploring androids, sex, freedom, consent, and personhood. His goal is to encourage positive social and political change through the creation and performance of startling, extraordinary poetry and theatre. View all posts by justinwoo

Leave a comment