Writing the Grief, losing track of time.

I’m back at work today because I was beginning to forget what day it was. Separated from the structure of the five day work week, I began to lose track of which day was which, what I had to do, what commitments I had made. I’m the kind of person who makes a ton of commitments, gets bogged down by them, gets stressed out over them, but almost always completes them and feels good about that. I schedule my life out months in advance. I give time to people, causes, and organizations. Keeping it all organized and together, as well as prioritizing what matters to me and what doesn’t – that is an important component of who I am. Or at least who I think I am.

When my mother died, I dropped everything. I don’t drop everything for anything. Or anyone. But there was never any question that I would cancel all my plans and spend time with my family. The clarity of purpose was brutally sharp.

Now I’m back at work, full of an uncertain future, in a life that I finally feel like I own, and the only thing I want to do is get on schedule again. Start committing. Work harder (or blog harder, in any case). But my work has, for so long, felt like a rut. Why do I keep doing this? Why do I feel like I need this?

Maybe it’s the distraction. Maybe it’s the structure. Maybe it’s because when I get deep into a project, I can feel like I still have both parents. Right now though, I need to get back to work.

About justinwoo

Justin Woo is a Rutgers graduate, Jersey City resident, and Chinese-American poet, theatre artist, videographer, photographer and DJ. He has performed at universities and theatres in New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New Hampshire including the 2007 NYC Fringe Festival and the Tony Award-winning Crossroads Theatre. He was a member of the 2011 and 2012 JC Slam team, and is a JC Slam committee member and tech director. He has collaboratively created several multidisciplinary spoken word theatre pieces. He is currently writing "The Girl Behind The Glass," a science fiction play exploring androids, sex, freedom, consent, and personhood. His goal is to encourage positive social and political change through the creation and performance of startling, extraordinary poetry and theatre. View all posts by justinwoo

Leave a comment